Dirk
De Ridder, MD, PhD, FEBU

KULeuven
Date Friday 21.10
Time 09:30

Conference topics

Pay for performance

Biography

Dirk De Ridder is Professor of Urology at the Katholieke Universtiteit Leuven, Belgium. He chaired the Department of Urology at KU Leuven University Hospitals from 2015 to 2020.
Since 2020, he has been Quality Director of KU Leuven University Hospitals and member of the Executive Committee.

He obtained his medical degree in 1989, became an accredited urologist in 1995 and completed a PhD thesis on urological care for patients with multiple sclerosis in 1998. He has been a member of the staff of the University Hospitals KU Leuven since 1995. He is a Fellow of the European Board of Urology.

As a urologist, Professor De Ridder’s research interests include male and female incontinence, interstitial cells, TRP channels and urothelial signalling, and obstetric fistula. He is a senior clinical researcher at FWO Flanders. He founded the Experimental Urology Laboratory at KU Leuven in 2000 and has supervised more than 20 PhDs.

Since 2013, he is strategic director of the Flemish Hospital Network KU Leuven (VznkuL), a quality improvement association of 31 hospitals, collaborating with the KU Leuven University Hospitals. He has also acted as chairman of the Leuven Institute for Health Policy since 2013. In this position he contributed to Flemish health policy by writing government reports on ‘The Hospital of the Future’ and ‘Strategic Care Planning in Hospital Networks in Flanders’ and to the new ‘Flanders Quality Model’, a hospital quality management model implemented in 19 Flemish hospitals.

He is chairman of the board of the National Multiple Sclerosis Centre, Melsbroek, Belgium and a member of the board of St. Blasius Hospital, Dendermonde, Belgium.

He has chaired the Fistula Committee of the International Continence Consultation and previously served as President of the European Society of Neurourology (2004-2007), Board Member of the European Society of Female and Functional Urology (2007-2011) and Chairman of the Standardisation Committee and Board Member of the International Continence Society (both 2007-2010).

Professor De Ridder has served as Associate Editor of Neurourology and Urodynamics and the British Journal of Urology International.

Pr.
Dirk De Ridder, MD, PhD, FEBU

KULeuven
Date Vendredi 21.10
Heure 14:00

Thème de la conférence

L’impact de qualité sur les finances de l’hôpital

Biographie

Dirk De Ridder est professeur d’urologie à la Katholieke Universtiteit Leuven, Belgique. Il a présidé le département d’urologie des Hôpitaux universitaires KU Leuven de 2015 à 2020. Depuis 2020, il est directeur de la qualité des hôpitaux universitaires KU Leuven et membre du comité executif.

Il a obtenu son diplôme de médecine en 1989, est devenu urologue accrédité en 1995 et a terminé une thèse de doctorat sur les soins urologiques pour les patients atteints de sclérose en plaques en 1998. Il est membre du staff des hôpitaux universitaires KU Leuven depuis 1995. Il est Fellow of the European Board of Urology.

En tant qu’urologue, les intérêts de recherche du professeur De Ridder incluent l’incontinence masculine et féminine, les cellules interstitielles, les canaux TRP et la signalisation urothéliale, ainsi que la fistule obstétricale. Il est chercheur clinique senior du FWO Flanders. Il a fondé le laboratoire d’urologie expérimentale à la KU Leuven en 2000 et a supervisé plus de 20 doctorats.

Depuis 2013, il est directeur stratégique du Réseau hospitalier flamand KU Leuven (VznkuL), une association d’amélioration de la qualité de 31 hôpitaux, collaborant avec les hôpitaux universitaires KU Leuven. Il a également agi en tant que président du Leuven Institute for Health Policy depuis 2013. À ce poste, il a contribué à la politique de santé flamande en rédigeant des rapports gouvernementaux sur « L’hôpital du futur » et « La planification stratégique des soins dans les réseaux hospitaliers en Flandre » et à le nouveau « Flanders Quality Model », un modèle de gestion de la qualité hospitalière mis en œuvre dans 19 hôpitaux flamands.

Il est président du conseil d’administration du Centre national de la sclérose en plaques, Melsbroek, Belgique.Il est membre du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital St. Blasius, Dendermonde, Belgique.

Il a présidé le comité de la fistule de la consultation internationale sur l’incontinence et a précédemment été président de la société européenne de neurourologie (2004-2007), membre du conseil d’administration de la société européenne d’urologie féminine et fonctionnelle (2007-2011) et président de le comité de normalisation et membre du conseil d’administration de l’International Continence Society (tous deux de 2007 à 2010).

Le professeur De Ridder a été rédacteur en chef adjoint de Neurourology and Urodynamics et du British Journal of Urology International.